… the knowledge of which is not going to affect your life in any way, except perhaps the fact that a few precious minutes of your day will be spent reading it.

1.   When I start watching a TV series or a movie or find a song I like, I do obscene amounts of research on them; to the extent that I might know what dessert the lead character binges on, in real life, when she is upset. Of course, if similarly copious amounts of research are required by anything closely resembling academics, I roll over and play dead.

2.   I think Wikipedia is an awesome source of time pass material. I know that at this point there are people who will pull out swords and trash Wikipedia’s editorial process, but look at it this way – there are so many people out there with knowledge about a myriad mix of subjects and topics, even great amounts of information about needless trivia and popular culture. If not anything else, Wikipedia becomes a platform for sharing of this knowledge and since you already know the veracity of its data or its source, you believe it all at your own risk. If you need information for your school papers, find a more credible source. I have decided to go on record and say that the people at Wikipedia have not paid me for this free PR, though I really honestly wish they would.

3.   I always thought cockroaches were just creepy, then I changed my mind. In the pilot episode of Heroes, Prof. Mohinder Suresh addresses his class and says:

“A creature that has adapted and survived for 250 million years. Capable of living without food for months. Remaining alive headless for weeks at a time. Its female need only be impregnated once to lay over a million eggs in her lifetime. Resistant to radiation, it is the only species that will survive a nuclear winter. If God has indeed created himself in his own image, then I submit to you that God is a cockroach.”

This led my fear for cockroaches to multiply manifold and now every time I see one in my bathroom, I remember the conviction with which the professor had made that statement and fear for my life. (NOTE: Please let’s not get into the propriety of that statement. We’re talking about how I’m scarred for life, here.)

4.   I am a great believer in the concept of ‘jugaad’, in purely academic applications. I almost caused the Best Friend to forget all the Physics he had ever learnt when I told him the evening before my Mechanics semester exam, how I thought forces acted in various directions.

5.   I am a language snob and possess what I call the ‘angrezi ka keeda’. When someone speaks to me in English, I am inevitably correcting their grammar and its structure in my head, although I’m too polite to point it out and I don’t judge based on it. In case you have impeccable diction and a respectable vocabulary, I will secretly crush on you for a very long time. Also, I cannot for the life of myself understand why some people would type ‘ma’ or ‘mah’, instead of ‘my’. Or ‘yew’ instead of ‘you’. If you are going to type the same number of alphabets, you might as well type the correct ones! I think people who use the T9 dictionary on their phones and send me messages with complete words, punctuations and the occasional emoticon are very, very cool.

THERE. I’m done! I’ve read a huge number of blogs and almost everyone has at least one post that is a list. I so badly wanted a list of my own! And having discovered the joy of writing down disjointed thoughts and then giving them numbers, I have decided I shall do many, many more of this sort. I love lists. “Rules are fun!” (Thus spake Monica Gellar-Bing)

HORROR UPDATE: So I’m walking back home after a nice, fun day with a friend and I see the Welfare Association’s President’s grandkid playing with his friends. He is about 8, I think. I walk up to him and ask, “Is mama home? I need to pay her the maintenance.” The poor thing, scared out of his wits at being spoken to, shakes his head very, very vigorously, making me fear that if he didn’t stop right then, it would just roll off. I turned to walk off, when two high-pitched pre-pubescent voices shrieked, “AUNTYYYYYY!!!” I turned and the kid pointed to his mother entering through the gate.

That evening, a part of me died.

