• …is “Coffee, sometime?”, so darn hard to say?
  • …is it so hard to follow rules, but so easy to ‘zara side hona’ when a lady the size of Bangladesh attempts to fit herself in that little space between two metro seats that would otherwise count as… well… nothing?
  • …have the aliens told Ma that lesser salt in my food will help me lose weight?
  • …should I quell my childish streak just because I am twenty-three? I will continue to throw my hands in the air every time my circa 1952-model laptop finishes saving a Photoshop file and do a hands-rotating-near-chest-hips-not-coordinating jig every time I figure out a structural detail a five-year old could draw in his sleep. Yeah, babeh!
  • …is there a silent-farter in the coach every time I travel by the metro? Every. Single. Time. MEH.
  • …can the tightest jeans and the shortest shorts be tried out, but it takes a saree to get The Boy to give you a second look?
  • …can’t I understand the difference between the prefixing of ‘in-‘ and ‘un-‘ when attempting an antonym?
  • …do men NEVER get it when we want them to ask us out? And if anyone gives me the ‘men can’t read hints’ bulls**t, I will hunt them down and assault them. Battery, even.
  • …bother providing world-class facilities when the citizens who use them can never get their heads out of the gutter? I suggest everyone try at least once, to get into a metro at peak travel time. The men push the women, paw wherever they can, the ladies squeal and throw bags to save a seat and somewhere amidst the mêlée, the kids get crushed and senior citizens get propelled in and out of the coach without needing feet.
  • …does Ma’s face register more satisfaction when an irritating mosquito has been murdered, than when I get through a Masters course?
  • …must all Delhi men look diagonally when they walk and all women look down? The female gender is not meat and even if it takes me a machete to get that into the male brain, I’m all for it.
  • …must I face my demons to prove my strength? I feel the need to surround myself with people who make me happy, but fate has other dirty plans for me.
  • …must the Delhi Government attempt events that are the scale of the Commonwealth Games when Connaught Place requires six months for a facelift, ‘streetscaping’ involves the digging up of medians and then allowing Pretty Rain Pools to accumulate in them and freshly inaugurated stadia have their roofs caving in? As much as I try to be a cooperating citizen and comply with the zillion travel delays that occur owing to the infrastructure overhaul, I find that all that is happening is a merry Pass-the-Parcel with the blame game.
  • …must all good things come to an end, especially when they involve kittens on the desktop and forgetting to save files you have slogged all day on?
  • …not?
